Who is Behind Agoge?

Joe De Sena

Joseph De Sena, 46, has been an entrepreneur since his pre-teen years. From selling fireworks at age eight, to starting a t-shirt business in high school, to building a multimillion-dollar pool business in college, to creating a trading firm on Wall Street, De Sena is a living definition of the word “entrepreneur.”

joe_de_sena

Joe’s message of inspiration and personal transformation, combined with his status as an author on the New York Times Best Seller list makes him a popular speaker for a variety of business groups, including Pepperidge Farms, the Association of Corporate Growth (twice), Florida Venture Forum, and the independent TedXBeaconStreet.

A full-time resident of Pittsfield, Vermont, Joe De Sena knows what it feels like to succeed outside the office – and that’s the feeling he seeks to bring to the world’s athletes with the Reebok Spartan Race series. Throughout his life, he competed in any extreme sports adventure he could find, testing his mental and physical endurance against nature.

Joe turned an interest in endurance racing into a passion. His racing resume is the stuff of legend – over 50 ultra-events overall and 14 Ironman events in one year alone. Most of his races are 100 miles or more with a few traditional marathons in the mix.

To put it in perspective, he raced the Vermont 100, the Lake Placid Ironman and the Badwater Ultramarathon…in one week. The elevation climb for the 135-mile Badwater race, which starts hundreds of feet below sea level in Death Valley, is over 8,500 feet up to Mt. Whitney and temperatures soar into the 120’s. Joe also biked cross-country in the Furnace Creek 508 which has been coined “The Toughest 48 Hours in Sport.”

Joe’s other athletic achievements include:

  • Raid International Ukatak: Canada, January 2001
  • IditaSport: Alaska February, 2001 (1st place)
  • Odyssey Adventure Race: Big Island, Va., March 2001
  • OAR Beast of the East: Clayton Lakes, Va., April 2001 (1st place)
  • Raid The North Extreme: Newfoundland, June 2001 (13th place out of 42)
  • Adrenaline Rush: Dublin, Ireland, July 2001
  • Discovery World Championships: St. Moritz, Switzerland August, 2001

De Sena’s no. 2 New York Times Best Seller, launched in May 2014, called Spartan Up!: A Take-No-Prisoners Guide to Overcoming Obstacles and Achieving Peak Performance (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014). It’s an insider’s look at the world of obstacle racing.

De Sena’s prescription for life’s insurmountable obstacles is to get off the couch and crush them through hard work and force of will.

Colonel Tim Nye

Retired Colonel, Tim Nye, served 32 plus years of combined service in the United States Marine Corps and the United States Army. Colonel Nye Served in the 2nd Tank Bn, 9th, 10th and 25th Infantry Divisions, 2nd Bn 75th Ranger Regiment, 7th Special Forces Group, Joint Special Operations Command, US Army Special Operations Command and the US Special Operations Command (twice). Over the course of his military career, Colonel Nye completed tours and deployments to operations in Panama (1989), Bosnia (1995), Iraq (2003), and Afghanistan (2004 and 2009). He also deployed to Yemen (2000), the Republic of Georgia (2002) and several undisclosed locations.

col_nye

Additionally, Colonel Nye escorted media to Afghanistan and Iraq over ten times from 2005-2012. He participated in a month-long fact finding mission to Afghanistan in 2012. Colonel Nye attended Officer Candidate School, Infantry Officer Basic and Advanced, Command and General Staff College, Joint Warfighting Course, and the Army War College. He has earned a Qualified Combat Infantry Badge, Expert Infantry Badge, Ranger, Airborne, Pathfinder, High Risk SERE.

In high school ran the one and two-mile in track and field, competed in cross country and soccer and was captain of his wrestling team. He briefly wrestled at the University of Delaware. His other athletic accomplishments include running the Honolulu Marathon, Oahu Perimeter Run, Army 10-Miler, Sound to Narrows and numerous other endurance races. He has competed in DoD-level Bench Press Competition. Colonel Nye has a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice and two Master’s degrees for Strategic Planning and Military Science.

Frank Grippe

Frank Grippe recently retired from the United States Army after 34 years of service. He has been a four season outdoor sports enthusiast since his youth and presently resides on the south-central periphery of the Adirondack Mountains.

frank_g

Frank attended two Outward Bound Courses as a teenager and joined the U.S. Army after high school. He served as an Infantryman his entire career, primarily with Ranger and Paratrooper units. Frank’s career took him around the world with an emphasis on the Americas, Asia and the Middle East. His combat operations have included a 500-foot nighttime parachute assault under fire into Panama to participating in direct action missions in Afghanistan as recently as last year. Frank’s first and final combat action was conducted as a member (and then participating observer) within the 2nd Ranger Battalion. His career path reads Rifleman to Command Senior Enlisted Leader of the United States Central Command.

The Obstacle Course and Extreme Outdoor Events have been a part of Frank’s life since childhood. He is an advocate of the Mind, Body, Spirit, and Community Life Style Discipline.
Frank is Proud and quite humbled to be invited to join the ranks of Team Spartan.

Charles Piso

charles

Charles is a retired third generation decorated Law Enforcement Officer, FBI trained Hostage Negotiator. After graduating high school, Charles worked as a Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician (NREMT) and then trained as a Paramedic at Northeastern University. He entered Law Enforcement in 1994 and served over 14 years in various positions including patrol, narcotics investigation, and as a FBI trained hostage negotiator. Charles was trained in Basic and Advanced Narcotics Investigation by the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) and Massachusetts State Police. In addition to attending Northeastern University, Charles attended Syracuse University before working for the Massachusetts House of Representatives and Senate.

Charles retired as a highly decorated officer in 2009 and now lives in Pittsfield, Vermont where he serves the community in various capacities, working as the Communications Officer for a local Search and Rescue Team.

Tony Matesi

tony_m

Tony Matesi, 29, is the creator of the Hurricane Heat Twelve Hour, and has been a force in the Obstacle Racing scene as an athlete and blogger since 2009. After graduating from the University of Illinois at Chicago with a B.S. in Entrepreneurship and a Minor in Marketing, he went on to earn a Master’s degree in Public Relations and Advertising from DePaul University. Soon after graduate school while helping launch multiple start-up businesses, he competed in some of the most grueling endurance races offered in the United States. The experience inspired him to start his own 24 hour adventure race.

Tony pitched his race and ideas to Joe De Sena, which later became the Hurricane Heat 12 Hour and led him to his position at Spartan as the Director of the Hurricane Heat. His background and education in marketing and love for a lifestyle that encourages pushing his athletic and creative limits landed him in the concurrent position of Managing Editor of the Spartan Magazine and Blog. In addition to his work with Spartan Race Tony has been a contributor in the operations of multiple 50+ hour endurance races since 2013.

QUI EST DERRIÈRE L’AGOGÉ ?

Joe De Sena

Joseph De Sena, 46 ans, est entrepreneur depuis tout jeune. De la vente de feux d’artifice à l’âge de huit ans, à la création d’une entreprise de trading sur Wall Street, en passant par une entreprise de t-shirts au lycée et une société de nettoyage de piscines de plusieurs millions de dollars à l’université, De Sena est une définition vivante du mot « entrepreneur ».

joe_de_sena

Le message d’inspiration et de transformation personnelle de Joe, combiné à son statut d’auteur sur la liste des Best-Seller du New York Times on fait de lui un conférencier célèbre chez divers groupes d’entreprises, y compris la Pepperidge Farm, l’Association de la croissance des entreprises (deux fois), le Florida Venture Forum et le TedXBeaconStreet.

Résident à temps plein à Pittsfield, dans le Vermont, Joe De Sena sait ce que l’on ressent lorsque l’on réussit en dehors du bureau : et c’est le sentiment qu’il cherche à apporter aux athlètes du monde entier avec la série de courses Reebok Spartan. Tout au long de sa vie, il a participé à toutes les aventures extrêmes de sport qu’il pouvait trouver, en testant son endurance physique et mentale contre la nature.

Joe a transformé son intérêt pour les courses d’endurance en une passion. Son curriculum vitae des courses qu’il a parcourues est la base de sa légende : plus de 50 ultra-événements globaux et 14 événements Ironman en une seule année. La plupart des courses auxquelles il a participé sont de plus de 160 miles, avec quelques marathons traditionnels dans le mélange.

Pour mettre cela en perspective, il a participé au Vermont 100, au Lake Placid Ironman et à l’ultramarathon Badwater… en une semaine. Sa notoriété grandit encore avec sa participation à la course 135-mile Badwater, qui commence des centaines de mètres au-dessous du niveau de la mer dans la vallée de la Mort, et se termine à plus de 4 400 mètres au mont Whitney, course pendant laquelle les températures peuvent atteindre les 48 degrés. Joe a également fait du vélo à travers les États-Unis pendant la Furnace Creek 508, que l’on appelle « les 48 heures les plus difficiles du sport. »

Les autres accomplissements sportifs de Joe comprennent :

  • Raid Ukatak International : Canada, janvier 2001
  • IditaSport : Alaska, février 2001 (1ère place)
  • Odyssey Adventure Race : Big Island en Virginie, mars 2001.
  • OAR Beast of the East: Clayton Lakes en Virginie, avril 2001 (1ère place).
  • Raid The North Extreme: Terre-Neuve, juin 2001 (13e place sur 42) (13th place out of 42)
  • Adrenaline Rush: Dublin, Irlande, juillet 2001
  • Discovery World Championships: Saint-Moritz, Suisse, août 2001

L’écrit de De Sena, Spartan Up!: A Take-No-Prisoners Guide to Overcoming Obstacles and Achieving Peak Performance (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014), est classé numéro 2 parmi les best-sellers du New York Times. Il s’agit d’un guide sur le monde des courses d’obstacles.

La prescription de De Sena pour les obstacles insurmontables de la vie est de descendre du canapé et de les écraser par la force du travail et la volonté.

Colonel Tim Nye

Le colonel Tim Nye, aujourd’hui à la retraite, a servi pendant plus de 32 ans au sein des Marines des États-Unis et de l’armée des États-Unis. Il a servi dans le 2nd bataillon de chars, la 9e, 10e et 25e divisions d’infanterie, le 2nd bataillon du 75e régiment de Rangers, le 7e groupe de forces spéciales, le commandement conjoint des opérations spéciales et le commandement des opérations spéciales de l’armée américaine (deux fois). Au cours de sa carrière militaire, le colonel Nye a été déployé en opération au Panama (1989), en Bosnie (1995), en Irak (2003) et en Afghanistan (2004 et 2009). Il a également été déployé au Yémen (2000), en République de Géorgie (2002) et dans plusieurs lieux inconnus.

col_nye

En outre, le colonel Nye a escorté des journalistes en Afghanistan et en Irak plus de dix fois entre 2005 et 2012. Il a participé à une mission d’un mois en Afghanistan en 2012. Le colonel Nye est issu de la Officer Candidate School, l’Infantry Officer Basic and Advanced, le Command and General Staff College, le Joint Warfighting Course et le Army War College. Il a obtenu sa qualification aux stages de combat d’infanterie, d’expertise de l’infanterie, au stages Airborne, Pathfinder et High Risk SERE.

Au lycée, il a couru en athlétisme l’épreuve du 1 mile et celle du 2 miles, des épreuves le cross et de football et a été capitaine de son équipe de lutte. Il a brièvement fait de la lutte pour l’université du Delaware. Ses autres accomplissements sportifs comprennent la course du marathon d’Honolulu, la course du Oahu Perimeter, l’Army 10-Miler, le Sound to Narrows et de nombreuses autres courses d’endurance. Il a participé à la compétition du département de la défense américaine du développé-couché. Le colonel Nye détient une licence en justice pénale et deux masters : l’un en planification stratégique et l’autre en science militaire.

Frank Grippe

Frank Grippe a récemment quitté l’armée des États-Unis après 34 ans de service. Il est passionné par les sports d’extérieur, en toute saison, depuis sa jeunesse et réside actuellement à la périphérie des montagnes Adirondacks.

frank_g

Frank a assisté à deux cours Outward Bound pendant son adolescence et a rejoint l’armée des Etats-Unis après le lycée. Il a servi comme fantassin toute sa carrière, principalement au sein des unités de Ranger et de parachutistes. La carrière de Frank l’a fait voyager dans le monde entier, particulièrement en Amérique, en Asie et au Moyen-Orient. Ses opérations de combat ont été, entre autres, de mener un assaut depuis un saut en parachute à 150 mètres de hauteur sous le feu ennemi au Panama et de participer à des missions d’action directe en Afghanistan jusqu’à l’année dernière. La première et dernière action de combat de Frank a été en tant que membre (et observateur actif par la suite) au sein du 2e bataillon des Rangers. Son parcours l’a fait évoluer de Rifleman à Command Senior Enlisted Leader du commandement central des États-Unis.

Les courses d’obstacles et les événements extrêmes en plein air font partie de la vie de Frank depuis son enfance. C‘est un défenseur de la discipline de l’esprit, du corps, du mental et de la vie communautaire.

Frank est fier et très honoré d’avoir été invité à rejoindre les rangs de l’équipe Spartan.

Charles Piso

charles

Charles est un officier de la loi décoré, à la retraite, formé par le FBI à la négociation d’otages. Après le lycée, Charles a travaillé comme technicien médical d’urgence et a ensuite été formé au paramédical à la Northeastern University. Il est engagé pour faire régner l’ordre en 1994 et a servi plus de 14 ans dans divers postes pendant lesquels il effectuait des patrouilles, des enquêtes sur les stupéfiants, et comme négociateur d’otages formé par le FBI. Charles a été formé aux enquêtes basiques et avancées par la Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) et la police d’état du Massachusetts. En plus d’étudier à la Northeastern University, Charles a étudié à l’université de Syracuse avant de travailler pour la Chambre des représentants du Massachusetts et le Sénat.

Charles a pris sa retraite d’officier hautement décoré en 2009 et vit maintenant à Pittsfield, dans le Vermont où il sert la communauté dans divers domaines, en tant qu’agent des communications pour une équipe locale de recherche et de sauvetage.

Tony Matesi

tony_m

Tony Matesi, 29 ans, est le créateur de la Hurricane Heat de 12 heures, et a participé à la création des courses d’obstacles comme athlète et blogueur depuis 2009. Après son diplôme de l’Université de l’Illinois à Chicago avec une licence en entrepreneuriat et marketing, il a continué par un master en relations publiques et publicité de l’Université DePaul. Peu après ses études supérieures, tout en contribuant au lancement de plusieurs start-up, il a participé à certaines des courses d’endurance les plus exténuantes des États-Unis. L’expérience l’a inspiré à démarrer sa propre course d’aventure de 24 heures.

Tony a présenté sa course et ses idées à Joe De Sena, qui devint plus tard la Hurricane Heat de 12 heures et l’a mené vers son poste de directeur de la Hurricane Heat chez Spartan. Son expérience et sa formation en marketing, ainsi que son amour pour un style de vie, qui encourage à repousser ses limites sportives et créatives, l’on fait atterrir au poste compétitif de rédacteur en chef du magazine et du blog Spartan. En plus de son travail sur les courses Spartan, Tony a été un contributeur actif dans les opérations de plusieurs courses d’endurance de plus de 50 heures depuis 2013.